If you are charged with a violent crime in Minnesota, the penalties you may face for a conviction vary widely based on the details surrounding the event, the applicable statutes and other factors. For example, there are several different levels of assault. The most serious of the assault charges is assault in the first degree.
According to the Minnesota statutes, if you commit a violent crime, you could find yourself in prison for 10 to 20 years. The harm that a victim sustains is one factor that may affect an assault charge. You may be charged with assault in the first degree if you attack another person and he or she sustains severe injuries.
To fully understand assault in the first degree, you should know the meaning of the term “deadly force,” which is defined in statute 609.066. This is acting with the intent of killing or severely injuring someone, or acting in a way that a reasonable person should know has the serious potential to cause death or great bodily harm. This includes firing a loaded gun at someone, or at a vehicle you believe someone to be in.
It is assault in the first degree if you attempt to use deadly force against a law enforcement official, judge, prosecuting attorney or a person who works for a jail, public or private prison or workhouse, even if you do not actually injure them. In addition to prison time without parole, this type of conviction includes fines of up to $30,000. This information about assault is provided for educational purposes only and should not be interpreted as legal advice.